Subscribe to News
Papal Blessing Application Form: /sites/default/files/papal%20blessing.pdf How to apply: Print and complete the application form - leave...
Bereavement Counselling (By Appointment) Breda Fadden is a Bereavement Counsellor working on a part-time basis in the Pastoral Centre. She offers...
Download Do this in Memory Dates for 2016/2017 here  
At a meeting of the Diocesan College of Consulters on Tuesday 2 August, Canon Michael McLoughlin, the Parish Priest of Moycullen, was elected as...


Diocesan Administrator

Very Reverend Michael Canon McLoughlin
Diocesan Office, Galway Cathedral, Galway
Telephone: +353-91-563566

Cathedral Chapter

The Cathedral Chapter assists the Bishop in the more solemn liturgical worship of the Cathedral; its members are known by the honourary title of "Canon", and their twelve stalls form part of the furnishings of the Cathedral High Altar. The Chapter is presided over by the Dean of the Chapter. Chapter meetings normally take place in the Cathedral Conference Room.

Very Reverend Michael Canon McLoughlin - Diocesan Administrator

Very Reverend Ian Canon O'Neill
Very Reverend Joseph Dean Delaney
Very Reverend Thomas Canon Marrinan
Very Reverend Martin Canon Moran, VF
Very Reverend Peter Canon Rabbitte, VF
Very Reverend Martin Canon Glynn
Very Reverend Michael Canon Reilly
Very Reverend Martin Canon Downey
Very Reverend Derek Canon Feeney



The Diocese is divided into five deaneries, for each of which a Vicar Forane (VF) is appointed by the bishop. The VF excercises limited jurisdiction in the deanery on behalf of the bishop.

Galway City East Galway City West Galway Rural Kilmacduagh Kilfenora
Ballybane Knocknacarra An Spidéal Ardrahan Ballyvaughan
Ballinfoyle Sacred Heart Barna Ballindereen Carron & New Quay
Cathedral Salthill Castlegar Clarinbridge Ennistymon
Good Shepherd Saint Joseph Killanin Craughwell Kilfenora
Mervue Saint Mary, Claddagh Leitirmór Gort & Beagh Liscannor & Moymore
Renmore   Moycullen Kilbeacanty & Peterswell Lisdoonvarna & Kilshanny
Saint Augustine   Oranmore Kilchreest & Castledaly  
Saint Francis   Oughterard Kinvara  
Saint Patrick   Rosmuc    

Council of Priests

The Council of Priests is a representative body of clergy comprised of elected and nominated members. It offers opinion and advice when consulted by the Bishop as outlined in the Code of Canon Law.

A new Council of Priests will be elected following the appointment of a new bishop.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee in conjuction with the bishop attends to matters of finance and the governance of the temporal goods of the diocese.

Very Reverend Michael Canon McLoughlin
Reverend Martin Whelan
Mr Peter Casserly
Mr Tom Kilgarriff
Mr John Rafferty

Diocesan Auditor

Mr Michael McEvoy

Board of Meitheal

The Board of Meitheal provides assistance with regard to development within the diocese.

A new board will be appointed following the appointment of a new bishop.