Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach

Episcopal Succession

Bishops of Galway & Kilmacduagh and Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

2018–present: Brendan Kelly, previously Bishop of Achonry.

2005–2016: Martin Drennan, previously auxiliary bishop of Dublin.

1993–2005: James McLoughlin, previously parish priest in Galway Cathedral. He died on 25 November 2005.

1976–1992: Eamonn Casey, transferred from Kerry. He resigned on 6 May 1992.

1937–1976: Michael Browne, previously professor of moral theology at St Patrick's College, Maynooth; retired in 1976 and died on 22 February 1980.

1923–1936: Thomas O'Doherty, transferred from Clonfert.

1909–1923: Thomas O'Dea, transferred from Clonfert.

1887–1908: Francis McCormack, transferred from Achonry. He retired because of ill health and died in 1909.

1883–1887: Thomas Carr, previously vice-president of Saint Patrick's College, Maynooth; transferred to Melbourne in 1886.

1883: Pope Leo XIII joined the diocese of Kilmacduagh to Galway and made the Bishop of Galway Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora in perpetuum.

Bishops of Galway

1857–1883: John McEvilly, who was appointed Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora in 1866.

1844–1855: Laurence O'Donnell.

1831–1844: George Browne, previously parish priest of Athlone, appointed Bishop of Galway.

Bishops of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

1853–1866: Patrick Fallon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; he resigned due to ill health.

1824–1852: Edmund Ffrench, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; last Warden of Galway (1812 - 1831).

1800–1824: Nicholas Archdeacon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.

(1800: Richard Luke Concannon was appointed Bishop of Kilfenora, but resigned before coming and was appointed Bishop of New York. He died in Naples in 1810 while waiting to sail to New York)

1795–1799: Edward Dillon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora. Transferred to Tuam in 1799 where he founded Saint Jarlath's College.

1783–1795: Laurence Nihil, Bishop of Kilfenora & Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh.

1750: Diocese of Kilfenora & Kilmacduagh united by the appointment of Peter Kilkelly, Bishop of Kilmacduagh (1744 - 1783) as Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.