Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach

Episcopal Succession

Bishops of Galway & Kilmacduagh and Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

1 May 2022 – present: Michael Duignan, also Bishop of Clonfert.

11 December 2017: Brendan Kelly, previously Bishop of Achonry.

23 May 2005: Martin Drennan, previously auxiliary bishop of Dublin. Retired 29 July 2016.

10 February 1993–2005: James McLoughlin, previously parish priest in Galway Cathedral. Died 25 November 2005.

21 July 1976: Eamonn Casey, transferred from Kerry. Resigned 6 May 1992 in controversial circumstances. Died 13 March 2017.

6 August 1937: Michael Browne, previously professor of moral theology at St Patrick's College, Maynooth; retired in 1976 and died on 22 February 1980.

13 July 1923: Thomas O'Doherty, transferred from Clonfert. Died 15 December 1936.

29 April 1909: Thomas O'Dea, transferred from Clonfert. Died 9 April 1923.

26 April 1887: Francis McCormack, transferred from Achonry. He retired because of ill health in 1908 and died in 1909.

12 June 1883: Thomas Carr, previously vice-president of Saint Patrick's College, Maynooth; transferred to Melbourne in 1886.

5 June 1883: Pope Leo XIII joined the diocese of Kilmacduagh to Galway and made the Bishop of Galway Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora in perpetuum.

Bishops of Galway

9 January 1857: John McEvilly, who was appointed Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora in 1866. –1883

27 September 1844: Laurence O'Donnell. Died 29 June 1855.

26 August 1831: appointment of George Browne, previously parish priest of Athlone, appointed Bishop of Galway.

27 April 1831: appointment of Nicholas Foran (appointment did not take effect).

26 April 1831: Establishment of the Diocese of Galway by Pope Gregory XVI.


Bishops of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

1853–1866: Patrick Fallon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; resigned due to ill health.

1824–1852: Edmund Ffrench, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; last Warden of Galway (1812 - 1831).

1800–1824: Nicholas Archdeacon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.

(1800: Richard Luke Concannon was appointed Bishop of Kilfenora, but resigned before coming and was appointed Bishop of New York. He died in Naples in 1810 while waiting to sail to New York)

1795–1799: Edward Dillon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora. Transferred to Tuam in 1799 where he founded Saint Jarlath's College.

1783–1795: Laurence Nihil, Bishop of Kilfenora & Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh.

1750: Diocese of Kilfenora & Kilmacduagh united by the appointment of Peter Kilkelly, Bishop of Kilmacduagh (1744 - 1783) as Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.