Subscribe to News
Is the Poor Clare life for you? Are you under 40 and wondering if the Poor Clare life might be for you? Join the Poor Clare Sisters for an online Q...
Do you need to speak to a priest? For those who may need to speak to a priest, the priests of Galway Cathedral are available by phone at regular...
Irish Chaplaincy offers contact service for anyone in Ireland with concerns about vulnerable older family or friends isolated in London. The Irish...
Accord Support Line ::  Conscious of those who are experiencing difficulties in their relationships and family lives during  the COVID-19...

History of the Diocese

The Wardenship (1484-1831)

Sometime in the late twelfth century, a diocese known as Annaghdown came into existence in the area surrounding Galway city. In 1324 this diocese was united with Tuam, its metropolitan see. However, the Anglo-Norman families of the city of Galway (the Tribes of Galway) refused to accept direct government from Tuam, and in 1484 the Archbishop of Tuam exempted them from his jurisdiction. Pope Innocent VIII sanctioned this and made the city church of Saint Nicholas a Collegiate Church governed by a warden (who was not a bishop) and eight vicars, who were 'presented and elected solely by the inhabitants of the town', i.e. the 'tribal' families. This arrangement survived even penal times.

From the early nineteenth century, canvassing, disputes and semi-rioting became a regular feature of the election of each warden. In February 1828 the Irish bishops recommended to Rome that the wardenship be ended and a normal diocesan structure be established.

Diocese of Galway (1831-1883)

Edmund Ffrench, the last Warden of Galway, was made Bishop of Kilmacduagh in 1824 and in 1831 the Bull Sedium Episcopalium was issued by Pope Gregory XVI, erecting the diocese of Galway. On 23 October of that year the first bishop of the diocese, George Joseph Plunkett Browne, was consecrated in Athlone. In 1844 he was transferred to Elphin diocese and was succeeded by Laurence O'Donnell, a native of Oughterard, who was consecrated on 28 October 1845. Laurence O'Donnell died on 23 June 1855 and in March 1857 John McEvilly was consecrated Bishop of Galway in Tuam Cathedral by Archbishop McHale. In 1866 he was appointed Administrator of Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora and though appointed co-adjutor to the Archdiocese of Tuam in 1878 he remained Bishop of Galway until Archbishop McHale's death in 1881.

Diocese of Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora (1132-1883)

The Diocese of Kilfenora and the Diocese of Kilmacduagh were both erected and had their territories defined by the Synod of Kells in 1132. In 1751 the two dioceses were united but because Kilfenora was in the ecclesiastical province of Cashel and Kilmacduagh in the province of Tuam, the Bishop of Kilmacduagh was made the Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora, and it was decreed that the next person holding episcopal jurisdiction in Kilmacduagh-Kilfenora would be Bishop of Kilfenora and Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh. This system of alternation continued down to the last bishop, Patrick Fallon, who resigned in 1866.

Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora (1883-present)

In 1866 the Bishop of Galway, John McEvilly, was made administrator of Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora. In 1883, Thomas Carr was appointed bishop, the first to be appointed with the title of Bishop of Galway & Kilmacduagh and Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.

Episcopal Succession

Bishops of Galway & Kilmacduagh and Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

2018–present: Brendan Kelly, previously Bishop of Achonry.

2005–2016: Martin Drennan, previously auxiliary bishop of Dublin.

1993–2005: James McLoughlin, previously parish priest in Galway Cathedral. He died on 25 November 2005.

1976–1992: Eamonn Casey, transferred from Kerry. He resigned on 6 May 1992.

1937–1976: Michael Browne, previously professor of moral theology at St Patrick's College, Maynooth; retired in 1976 and died on 22 February 1980.

1923–1936: Thomas O'Doherty, transferred from Clonfert.

1909–1923: Thomas O'Dea, transferred from Clonfert.

1887–1908: Francis McCormack, transferred from Achonry. He retired because of ill health and died in 1909.

1883–1887: Thomas Carr, previously vice-president of Saint Patrick's College, Maynooth; transferred to Melbourne in 1886.

1883: Pope Leo XIII joined the diocese of Kilmacduagh to Galway and made the Bishop of Galway Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora in perpetuum.

Bishops of Galway

1857–1883: John McEvilly, who was appointed Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora in 1866.

1844–1855: Laurence O'Donnell.

1831–1844: George Browne, previously parish priest of Athlone, appointed Bishop of Galway.

Bishops of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrators of Kilfenora

1853–1866: Patrick Fallon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; he resigned due to ill health.

1824–1852: Edmund Ffrench, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora; last Warden of Galway (1812 - 1831).

1800–1824: Nicholas Archdeacon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.

(1800: Richard Luke Concannon was appointed Bishop of Kilfenora, but resigned before coming and was appointed Bishop of New York. He died in Naples in 1810 while waiting to sail to New York)

1795–1799: Edward Dillon, Bishop of Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora. Transferred to Tuam in 1799 where he founded Saint Jarlath's College.

1783–1795: Laurence Nihil, Bishop of Kilfenora & Apostolic Administrator of Kilmacduagh.

1750: Diocese of Kilfenora & Kilmacduagh united by the appointment of Peter Kilkelly, Bishop of Kilmacduagh (1744 - 1783) as Apostolic Administrator of Kilfenora.