Skip to main content
Diocesan coat of arms

Diocese of GalwayKilmacduagh & Kilfenora

Deoise na GaillimheChill Mac Duach & Chill Fhionnúrach



Most Rev. Michael Duignan
Diocesan Office, The Cathedral, Gaol Road, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Diocesan Office

Diocese of Galway & Kilmacduagh & Apostolic Administration of Kilfenora
The Cathedral, Gaol Road, Galway H91 A780
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Office Hours
Monday–Thursday 09:30–17:30; Friday 09:30–16:30
Closed for lunch 13.00–14.00 each day
Closed Saturday & Sunday

Diocesan Secretary
Rev. Martin Whelan
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Financial Administrator & Property Manager
Mr Tom Hansberry
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Administrative Co-ordinator
Dr Darina McCarthy
T. +353 (0)91 563566

Very Rev. Ian Canon O'Neill, Parochial House, Claregalway, Co. Galway
T. +353 (0)91 798741

Communications Officer
Very Rev. Diarmuid Hogan PP, Parochial House, Oranmore, Co. Galway
T. +353 (0)91 794634

Ecumenical Officer
Rev. Thomas McCarthy OP
St Mary's Dominican Priory, Claddagh, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 582884

Liturgical Committee
Chairperson: presently vacant 

Sacred Music
Diocesan Director: Raymond O’Donnell, The Cathedral, Gaol Road, Galway
T. +353 (0)91 563577

Retirement Support Officer
Mr Tom McCann

Finance Committee
The Finance Committee in conjunction with the bishop attends to matters of finance and the governance of the temporal goods of the diocese. The current Finance Committee members are: Very Rev. Michael Dean McLoughlin, Very Rev. Mgr Peter Rabbitte, VG; Rev. Martin Whelan, Mr Peter Casserly, Mr Tom Hansberry, Mr Enda McGowan.

Diocesan Auditor
Michael McEvoy & Co., Registered Auditors, Seville House, New Dock Street, Galway. 
The Diocese of Galway, Kilmacduagh & Kilfenora is a registered charity (No. 20014438) and submits an Annual Report to the Charities Regulatory Authority.

Data Protection
Barrister Malachaí Ó Dubhda is Data Protection Officer and Information Law Consultant for the Western Dioceses. He can be contacted at